Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: low grade to high grade crs

Country
    United_States
    Thanks

Default low grade to high grade crs

hey im very new to shrimp. i havent even bought any except for some ghost shrimp as some starters.
    the shrimp i want to keep are crs but i cant afford the high grade ones. is it possible to start a colony of C grades and selectively breed them into high grades? or do i have to start with a high grade to get high grades?

Country
    United_States
    Thanks

somebody??

Regular
    Country
    Australia
    Thanks

You can start with lower grades and selective breed the traits you want.
    This may take a few years and careful selection, but its possible.

Senior
    Country
    Singapore
    Thanks

Thats what I am doing now, my C grade shrimp just gave birth last week and from what I read in this awesome site there will be roughly 20% C, 60% B 20 % A grade shrimp and you can select the A grade shrimps to breed and get more A grade shrimps.... The only other thing is S grade shrimps may have newbee/bumblebee genes in them and that means you may not be able to acheive S grade or above shrimps with this method. But I do like the "candy" look of A grade shrimps and I think the fun part of rearing shrimps is actually the journey itself of constantly trying to improve the colours and patterns of the shrimp and not solely of the "end product" itself.

Country
    United_States
    Thanks

yeah i agree with you milt the candy look is better. the white white ones have their own superior look but the candy look makes them look more exotic.