Thread: Confused as to the identity of my shrimp

Country
    United Kingdom
    Thanks

Default Confused as to the identity of my shrimp

Hello all, I've been asking on a few Facebook groups as well as to the identity of some shrimp I have. This is one of the males ( I have 1 x female who is much darker and heavier marked, and 2 x males). They are at the moment in a general community tank with some fish (who don't bother them) and 6 x Cherry shrimp females.
    I would eventually like to start breeding some of the shrimp in a separate tank but need to know where I stand with these first. I'm not convinced they are the wild form of the cherries as the body is more angular (even on the female) and they have very distinctive dark stripes but I could well be wrong!

Thank you for any help you can give me

IMG_0340_2.jpg

Country
    Hong Kong
    Thanks

Hi RedLotus,

You are right, this is not a wild form of RCS or neocaridina. I'm not an expert on identifying wild shrimps. However, the shrimp in your picture has the exact body shape and proportion as my Sulawesi shrimps.

The big eyes (same as my Sulawesi shrimps) tell that it is originated from place with a lot of predators and usually has very clear water. Maybe you should find out it's origin towards this path.
    shrimpydaddy.com

Country
    United Kingdom
    Thanks

Hi hyoushoku, thank you for your reply. I had a look at pictures of Sulawesi shrimp and yes they do have a very similar shape and that longer slender 'nose'.

I'm very new to shrimp keeping, in fact I only got my first shrimp about 6 months ago so differentiating between the various species and 'types' is still a huge headache for me. When I purchased these 3 they were mixed in amongst some more tangerine coloured ones and labelled Fire Sakura Shrimp (Neocaridina something or other) but the more I've learned and the more I've observed the assorted shrimp I now have the more I've come to realise they aren't what they seemed at first.