Thread: Shrimping Noob / Day 1 Tank Setup

Country
    United_States
    Thanks

Default Shrimping Noob / Day 1 Tank Setup

Greetings all!

I'm new to shrimp keeping and stumbled upon this forum. Looks like a lot of good info here, still combing through the posts to get educated.

Today, I purchased the equipment for my first tank setup and would appreciate any advice you may have. Here's what I got:

-10 gallon tank
    -Medium sized Bio Sponge filter
    -10-20 gallon air pump
    -Seachem Flourite Black Sand (10 lb bag)
    -10 lb bag river sand (from pet shop)
    -Water dechlorinator (i'm using Tap water)
    -3 Crypt Parva plants
    -1 Anubias nana
    -Ball of Java Moss
    -Fluorescent tank hood with Floramax Plant Growth bulb (made by Aqueon)
    -Driftwood (loose pieces from pet shop)
    -Couple of small lava rocks (loose pieces from pet shop also)

I started out by attempting to rinse the Flourite and river sand but I'm not sure i did a great job since the tank is super cloudy right now after adding the water (slowly). Next I arranged the plants in the tank and added the driftwood and rocks (after boiling the driftwood and leaching out the tannins). I then slowy filled the tank (with tap water), added the dechlorinator, and fired up the sponge filter. Its only been a few hours so the tank is still super cloudy (i'm assuming from the dust in the substrate that got stirred up). I'm hoping this will settle out in a few days.