PDA

View Full Version : Shrimp ID help...dark reddish/purple RCS?

kalnight
14th May 2012, 05:52 AM
I just got a batch of Taiwan Fire Painted shrimp in and I have two that are quite odd looking. One is HUGE, and kind of an amethyst purple color. I have another the same color but smaller. The males are a similar color but have see through areas on them. This biggest one has the body shape of a female to me (I'm not that knowledgeable though!) but the color is throwing me off. Also has green eyes.

Here are some photos with a regular Taiwan Fire painted male, female and then this purple guy/gal in the center. Is it just a variation? I'm pretty new to shrimp. I have regular red cherry shrimp and this batch, my regular reds look like ghost shrimp compared to these new ones! I love them! But the purplish hue is strange to me. So is it a variation and is it male or female?

Jacks0nxD
14th May 2012, 06:52 AM
Had those to in my last tank! A friend told me they where just cherry shrimps, only a bit unusual on color... kind of a mutant if you like :P

Fento
14th May 2012, 11:05 PM
I've some like them in my tanks .In my opinion depending on it's inner colour (bluish or yellowish) normal red cherry might look bright red or dark red. I guessw this way some orange and purpe strains showed up after selective breeding.

kalnight
15th May 2012, 05:02 AM
Had those to in my last tank! A friend told me they where just cherry shrimps, only a bit unusual on color... kind of a mutant if you like :P

They're ALL just cherry shrimps in my tank;) I just wasn't sure if this was a particular color variation (with a name, like the black cherry) or something strange or?

Thanks to the both of you for feedback. Still curious on the sex of the shrimp.

nosebleed
17th May 2012, 03:04 AM