PDA

View Full Version : Newbie asking for trouble?

esarkipato
27th Jan 2006, 04:12 AM
I know I'm a shrimp newbie, and I just might be asking for trouble. I just tried to post the long version but the forum crapped on me, I guess this will be the short version then.

Nice forum BTW, I've read the articles and many, many posts already :)

I basically added 8 cherry reds to an uncycled 10 gallon tank (based on some presumably bad advice). Hopefully this is not as embarrassing as adding them to my 29 community w/tetras, cories, a gobie, & guppies.

The filter is a 3" cube sponge, in a plastic housing. I did seed it with a *small* amount of filter floss from another tank.

Questions:
1) Am I in trouble with this cycling process? I was told that 8 cherries will have such a low bioload that the cycle would be slow enough to have no problems.

2) What should I feed? They ignored sinking veggie wafers and raw cucumber so far. See #4 for algae situation.

3) Should I vaccuum the sand? There are many, many black dots there now, presumably feces. I guess they are eating something.

4) Should I add 1 or more algae-infested plants? There is currently very little algae in this tank, but one of my 29 gallon tanks has lots of it!

Thanks for helping out a noob! :rolleyes: :rolleyes4

PS very nice smiley selection here!!!!

Also, what I gotta do to be able to post URLs?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Robert
27th Jan 2006, 09:14 AM
Hi and welcome to ShrimpNow.com!

You didn't start your shrimp tank in the way it should be done but it should be no big problem. Eight cherry shrimps don't need much food and also produce only very little waste. So the water parameters won't change much because of them or their food. To protect them from any harmful nitrite peaks, change the water regularly, about 20-30% every 5th day or so. Please be careful and add the new water only very slowly at first.