PDA

View Full Version : CRS tank Parameters and Temperature

dtsuyuki
19th May 2010, 11:31 AM
Howdy!

I'm a NOOB...!! I've been doing some reading on CRS on a few different sites and I am very confused to what is the ideal parameters, temperatures, soft acidic waters to hard water, and breeding. Ugh... my head hurts trying to figure out which T, GH, KH, PH is the best for them, breeding, and food...(Mosura)? On some of the post, people are saying that the water needs to be a bit hard, and others are saying.. the water needs to be soft acidic. All I know is the higher the grade is, the more important that the water parameters are. I had kept grade A/S CRS before in about 72F and they seem to be fine until Dean accidentally left on the co2 a bit too high. I lost all of 15 CRS but I manage to save one. I will be getting a new shipment of 15 CRS and CBS mix grade from A/S to SS soon. So, I just want everything to be perfect and successful in raising a colony. I have a Fluval Edge that is planted with ADA AS and has been running for the past 6 months (will post pictures of it up by this week). I planned on keeping them in there for now, until I get my ADA 60-P running. Please, help me figure this out? I'm lost with all of this information. :undecided Thanks!

Best,

Tiffany

imke_j
19th May 2010, 01:23 PM
Hi Tiffany, here are my advises for setting up a CR tank - hope that helps you a bit :)

Providing best water quality is a must for breeding shrimps; and even more for breeding high grade CR. Be aware that everything you plan and do is focusing on this goal.

Tank size: It is possible to keep CR in a 10 gallon tank, but bigger tanks guarantee more stable water parameters. Thatís why most Japanese breeder chose tanks around 90 L (25 US Gallons). I agree that a tank should have at least 54 L (14 US Gallons). That provides a high level on safety; remember that bringing in the gravel reduces net water volume, too.