PDA

View Full Version : How do I plant Pelia??

Nisharific
26th Mar 2009, 10:10 PM
Hi everyone,
I am a novice at fish/shrimp keeping. I have a 60l tank where I keep my fish and just got interested in shrimp so I got a nano tank for them. I've just bought some pelia but I have no Idea how to plant them.. Use a plant net?? tie them to a rock....?? How do I get them to llok like the picture??
Please help.
Nish

quanou
26th Mar 2009, 10:49 PM
Hi, I tie them to a rock or driftwood, with fishing wire (not sure about the translation), or a piece of net containing garlic or onion (they are sold that way in France).

dxiong5
26th Mar 2009, 10:50 PM
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think Pelia is similar to moss, where there are no roots. You can tie it to rocks or use a net. I had some in my tank and I just left it on the bottom; when there was a current, it would sway around in it.

BTW, welcome to ShrimpNow!

dxiong5
26th Mar 2009, 10:52 PM
Actually, the seller told me the brown stuff on the bottom was a healthy root system that needed to get into the substrate. I'm confused myself.

elijahchui
27th Mar 2009, 01:22 AM
i tied them to some branches. will upload pics once i get back home.

Nisharific
27th Mar 2009, 01:41 AM
thanks for all you input guys. I ordered my pelia froma shop in malaysia. When it arrived most of them were in small pieces, I've left it just floating on the surface of my shrimp tank with cotton thread so as to keep all the pieces together. I'm hoping it will grow slightly. I get the impression that plant nets are useless as the pela leaves are big. Tying them to a stock or rock can be done but I am sceptical whether I would be able to get the desired effect as in the photo.
Eagerly looking forward to your responses.
P.s. thanks for the warm welcome to the forum

retardo
27th Mar 2009, 03:30 AM