PDA

View Full Version : Shrimps for newbie?

spinex
24th Jul 2005, 03:13 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to shrimp keeping and would like to start off with some shrimps which are more hardy. Any recommendation and any LFS which has variety of shrimps to choose from ?

Thanks in advance.

silane
24th Jul 2005, 05:19 PM
A good choice for beginner is Cherry Shrimp, they are quite hardy, not that demanding in term if water quality and can do well with water temperature achievable by a fan.

Many shops sell Cherry shrimps and you may also want to buy/trade from hobbyists.

You may want to look for those are red and not pinkish.

jebus
24th Jul 2005, 09:09 PM
Malayan shrimps are quitre interesting to rear too.
With suitable water conditions they morph into other colours!

spinex
24th Jul 2005, 09:37 PM
Thanks for the advice. I just finished setting up my low maintainence tank last night (no CO2) but i did have fan to cool down the temperature and base fertiliser underneath the sand.

Got some java moss tied onto DW and on the foreground. Will add some low maintainence plants into my tank .. maybe Nana.. Glosso and Riccia seem nice.

chelseafc
24th Jul 2005, 11:12 PM
Glosso and Riccia are not low maintaninence plants, if u ask me.
Do you have light for the tank? You need good light for glosso and riccia to grow well.

As for shrimp, price of cherry varies from $0.50 to $1.00 each, depending on where you get it.
Malayan is cheaper, $0.20 each.

If your tank is not too big and you intend to get less than 10 shrimps, I think cherry shrimps are a better choice because I personally think they are nicer than malayan :)

spinex
24th Jul 2005, 11:53 PM
Glosso and Riccia are not low maintaninence plants, if u ask me.
Do u have light for the tank? You need good light for glosso and riccia to grow well.

As for shrimp, price of cherry varies from $0.50 to $1.00 each, depending on where u get it.
Malayan is cheaper, $0.20 each.