PDA

View Full Version : ground covering Moss ?



ndrake
10th Jul 2008, 09:53 PM
Hi!
Im searching for mosses to cover the entire ground in my aquarium.
Any suggestions? Pictures would be nice too.

thx in advance :)

Led
11th Jul 2008, 10:41 AM
Hi, I don't know of any ground covering moss, but what I used to do was buy the plastic mesh that people use for sewing samplers - you can get it at a craft shop - and sandwich the moss between 2 layers of it and tie the layers together around the edges with fishing line. Stick it to the bottom of the tank or weigh it down. Then you keep trimming the moss back to about 1cm above the plastic mesh until it spreads out and looks like a ground cover. I used to do this with plain old Java moss, but that was all we could get here in old days...

a1matt
2nd Jun 2009, 08:54 PM
I have seen a moss carpet of Taiwan moss. It looked very nice too!

diamond2009
2nd Jun 2009, 09:27 PM
Us fissiden and mini tawian very nice maybe you can try it out .
But not flame moss and stringy moss

ndrake
5th Jun 2009, 04:15 AM
I bought fissidens some time ago but I dont like thee look of it.
I'm using lots of hypophila involuta now and it looks better than anything i have tried out so far :D

Amazing Moss! I can send some photos if you like.
It is very slow growing and really hard to cultivate since you always start with almost completely dry moss -_- But 20% that reaches you is ok.

a1matt
5th Jun 2009, 04:24 PM
I would like to see a picture, especially as I have never seen or heard of that moss.

ndrake
5th Jun 2009, 08:14 PM
Oops, spelling mistake. Sorry! I meant Hyophila involuta not Hypophila...^^
You should know it under the false designation Tortula Ruralis, Starmoss, Plagiomnium Trichomanes or cement moss. Basically they all mean Hyophila involuta

I guess the guy who sells it just wanted to confuse people by selling
starmoss and Plagiomnium Trichomanes. I bought both mosses and I can definetly say that it is the same :)

I will try to make some photos and post them this weekend. Just have to ask my brother for his camera ^^

diamond2009
5th Jun 2009, 08:19 PM
fissidens not nice hmmm i saw 1 of the lfs tank the fissdens look nice and it take months to grow untill that stage. Amazing moss care to show us this moss never hear before thank. Had you try star moss look good too but very slow.

diamond2009
5th Jun 2009, 08:29 PM
Hi want to check with you star moss and cement moss is the same?
to me i see they look the same but cement is more smaller and fine.

a1matt
5th Jun 2009, 08:59 PM
thanks ndrake for saying the different names of this moss. I now know that I have seen this moss already, so no need for pics for me.

I actually bought some star moss, but it was DOA (4 weeks delivery time from Thailand to England).

kokon2208
8th Jun 2009, 07:47 PM
I guess the guy who sells it just wanted to confuse people by selling
starmoss and Plagiomnium Trichomanes. I bought both mosses and I can definetly say that it is the same

Plagiomnium Trichomanes and Hyophyla involuta are two different mosses. I have both.

kokon2208
8th Jun 2009, 07:48 PM
Hi want to check with you star moss and cement moss is the same?
to me i see they look the same but cement is more smaller and fine.
Cement moss = star moss = Hyophila involuta

ndrake
10th Jun 2009, 03:01 AM
hmmm... for me they look exactly the same.
Maybe you can share some photos ? :)

discusdubai
10th Jun 2009, 04:14 AM
Kindly post some photos pls.=)

diamond2009
10th Jun 2009, 09:03 AM
Star moss and cement moss the same. Now i only had cement moss. In singapore here there 1 shop seling both moss side by side he show me it look about the same but like what i said small in size . if you cement photo i can show you my cement moss.

kokon2208
10th Jun 2009, 03:01 PM
If you buy Star moss and Plagiomnium tricho in AqMagic, you probably get Hyophila involuta in both cases. If you buy Plagiomnium affine, you will receive Blepharostoma trichophyllum under that name. Under the name "Weeping moss" they sell something that is probably not Vesicularia ferriei, but some unknown moss. It doesnt look much "weeping". So AqMagic DOES NOT SELL ANY MOSS OF PLAGIOMNIUM SPECIES. I told them about that mess but no reaction. Now photos...Unfortunately I dont have pictures of my Plag tricho at hand. But I have the picture of my Plagiomnium cf. Maczimowitzii which looks very similar to Plag tricho, I doubt you can tell one from another. So again Star moss (Hiophila involuta) in my tank:
http://www.tropica.ru/forum/uploads/gallery/1238428776/gallery_4582_5_138023.jpg

Comparing to my Plagiomnium cf. Maczimowitzii:
http://forum.aquaplants.ru/gallery/image.php?pic_id=16

Please focus on separeted leaves:
http://forum.aquaplants.ru/gallery/image.php?pic_id=17

while AqMagic's "Plagiomnium affine" (which turns out to be Blepharostoma trichophyllum) does not have them separeted in fact (the plant in my tank):
http://www.tropica.ru/forum/uploads/gallery/1237273364/gallery_4582_5_41848.jpg

http://www.tropica.ru/forum/uploads/gallery/1237273364/gallery_4582_5_28870.jpg

diamond2009
10th Jun 2009, 06:52 PM
Hmmm how to post photo.. i post it in the Gallery that my star moss.

ndrake
11th Jun 2009, 05:25 AM
Hey Kokon you are right. I meant the "Plagiomnium Trichomanes" that Aqmagic sells
But as you see this is obviously no real "Tricho".
http://www.mosswall.com/Picture/Plant/Plagiomnium/Trico.jpg

Same for Tortula Ruralis. This is the real one which doesn't grow submersed:
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/b/b8/Drehzahnmoos_Tortula_ruralis.jpg/300px-Drehzahnmoos_Tortula_ruralis.jpg
like I said, imo the guy wants to confuse people or keep them from selling it too.

ndrake
14th Jun 2009, 03:30 AM
The camera is not very good. The quality was totally shitty so I tried to raise the Brightness and Contrast a little.
http://img35.imageshack.us/img35/5388/cimg0632.jpghttp://img35.imageshack.us/img35/1820/cimg0638h.jpg
http://img35.imageshack.us/img35/175/cimg0654q.jpghttp://img35.imageshack.us/img35/2654/cimg0665y.jpg
http://img35.imageshack.us/img35/4130/cimg0668t.jpghttp://img35.imageshack.us/img35/2503/cimg0686m.jpg
http://img44.imageshack.us/img44/5203/cimg0479.jpghttp://img44.imageshack.us/img44/9133/cimg0499.jpg


http://img35.imageshack.us/img35/5162/cimg0687a.jpg
and here is another of my beautiful plants :)

http://img35.imageshack.us/img35/2154/cimg0606h.jpg

GhosTS
20th Jun 2009, 08:01 PM
That moss ( whatever it is ) looks very nice for a carpet. This is the first time i'm seeing someone growing it submersed successfully. What is your Temp..Any CO2..What about Fertilizers.. Please give more information. How long did it take to grow up to that level.

ndrake
21st Jun 2009, 11:21 PM
I don't use no Co2 and no fertilizer. Only AquaSoil and lots of light. The temperature is 23c.
Due to the large amount of light, algae is growing pretty fast as you can see in the background. So i have to use lots of algae-killer which makes it impossible to keep shrimps in that tank.

http://img188.imageshack.us/img188/3595/comparetrichoandstarmos.jpg

retardo
22nd Jun 2009, 01:10 AM
If you are constantly fighting algae, your tank is imbalanced. A well balanced tank will have little to no algae. What is the photoperiod on the tank? How much light? Water changes and how often?

ndrake
24th Jun 2009, 03:02 AM
Yes you are right saying that my tank is imbalanced, but I think that if I changed water more often then I do (maybe once in 1 month) the nutrients from the AquaSoil would get "lost". I want to make the moss grow as fast as possible as you see that it is really a torture to keep it ;). The Photoperiod is 14 hours a day.
Correct me if I'm wrong.

retardo
25th Jun 2009, 03:56 AM
14 hours per day is WAY too much light. Algae loves light and that is one of the reason you have to fight it. If you are not keeping any shrimp or fish in the tank, no water changes is fine, IMO. Aquasoil, however, is only rich in sources of N and P, I believe, and perhaps some trace elements, but not much else. It will do well for the mosses in your tank for awhile (nutrients are pulled from water column instead of the substrate), but over time the nutrients will deplete and you should start dosing fertilizers.

How long have you had the Aquasoil?

If you want the mosses to grow faster, my suggestion is to inject CO2 (DIY or pressurized), add ferts, and perhaps increase the light wattage (but decrease the photoperiod). You will have to, of course, monitor the mosses to see how they react and tinker with the qty of ferts, CO2, and lights until you reach some sort of balance. You could also do blackouts to battle the algae.

ndrake
27th Jun 2009, 09:10 AM
How long have you had the Aquasoil?


Must be around 5 months



If you want the mosses to grow faster, my suggestion is to inject CO2 (DIY or pressurized),

I have tried to make a "co2 generator" with yeast and sugar in a bottle, but
i have never managed to seal it air-tight. Used a hot glue gun though :(.
CO2 in a bottle I must say, is something that I find quite expensive because you have to charge it for 60 bucks or something. I heard about the CarboPlus thing a few years ago which is said to be very good and cheap
One "sandwich" chunk is like 10$. I think I will buy one.



add ferts, and perhaps increase the light wattage ...


what ferts would you recommend. I have never tried it for my tank.
only the ones for my room plant. It was some sort of a liquid. Don't know if I could use that.

infopimp
30th Jun 2009, 10:17 AM
You've put a lot of effort into this, the DIY CO2 will not cost much and will add a lot to your progress, and let you back off on lighting. My tank below is just ADA Aquasoil and DIY CO2 - not dosing or anything (yet).

here is a quick link I found showing basically how I did it:

http://www.plantedtank.net/articles/DIY-Yeast-CO2/7/

My water is very hard here, so I don't mix in baking soda... just 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 tsp of yeast, 20 oz water... shake and leave uncapped for 15 minutes.... watch for the yeast to start foaming on surface - you will know for sure if your yeast is good... then cap it off. Bubbles are flowing within minutes.

To seal the join between bottle and tubing, I used silicone bathroom sealant and really made a nice thick layer, Make sure to let your glue/sealant dry for a day or two before adding CO2 and pressurizing the system or you will blow out the seal. Ask me how I know about that.... :)

http://www.imageseek.com/sven/gallery/albums/ADA_45-C/front_onelight_4196.sized.jpg

-steve

ndrake
12th Oct 2009, 06:20 AM
as a pastime till my other moss arrives :)
compare the pictures from 13th June to now! The growth is really not noticable :(
Also look what happened to my AquaSoil XD
http://img104.imageshack.us/img104/5215/84842505.png
http://img11.imageshack.us/img11/5883/starmoos.png

vasteq
29th May 2011, 01:42 AM
Star moss is only the name given to similar star mosses like milimetre, hyophila involuta. My friend lover of aquatic mosses has explain me that Star is the commercial name. I show you one of my star moss: Milimetre Moss (barbula sp) in compare with other star moss i called it Mini Milimetre:
4350

Blepharostoma triophyllum in good water condition (Co2, aqua soil, strong light) can grow lik that:
4351

vasteq
29th May 2011, 01:54 AM
I bought fissidens some time ago but I dont like thee look of it.
ndrake what Fissident you have? Maybe you should try with Splachnobryoides (but this real, not from Aquaticmagic):
43544355

seph
28th Jul 2011, 01:37 PM
hi guys. I'm new here. Do you happen to know this moss?
http://i471.photobucket.com/albums/rr78/rj16744/DSC007341.jpg

purchased it at a local store and they told me it's christmas moss but I am not sure
I used it as a sort of carpet for my tank :)

http://i471.photobucket.com/albums/rr78/rj16744/DSC00376.jpg
will still need to add driftwoods on this tank and trimmed hairgrass.

mickdeja
28th Jul 2011, 04:04 PM
Stunning pics there.