PDA

View Full Version : Why are my plants wilting?

Plastron
19th Jun 2007, 02:50 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to aquascaping and shrimp keeping so I need all the help I can get. :bs_help:

I get these really healthy looking plants and moss from the store like mini pellia, najas etc...and after having them in my tank for about 3 days, they start to wilt and turn a bit brown.

I've got my DIY CO2 running with a Hydor Ario 2 as the diffuser, water temp is around 27~28C with fan (I live in a rather hot climate). I'm using JBL Proflora start set (Aquabasis+ is sandwiched about 2~4cm thick between small gravel about 1cm thick and I haven't used any of the fertilizers yet since I'm supposed to wait 3~4 weeks. Just did a water change last night and added 2 teaspoons of ADA Bacter 100. I've also got an air pump oxygenating the water thru an air stone at night. Using a normal flourescent tube for light (was wondering if that really bright Philips Energysaver tube is good?). I'm using a hang on filter which does a pretty quick job of clearing the water after moving things around :P.

The funny thing is, I have a simple guppy(6 albinoes) tank at my office with no soil, no CO2, nothing...just a mini air pump operated filter and air stone and one of my identical java moss that came from the same batch is triving while in my "serious" tank mentioned above it's turning brown. What's going on? :huh:

Btw, I have 2 green shrimps, 3 tiger shrimps and 4 cherry reds. That's what was left after 1 tiger and 1 cherry red was found dead this morning. I suspect they were the two that just molted and stupid me did a water change that might have casued them to die. :embarasse

Sorry for the long post, but I hope someone can help me out...Thanks~!

sorab
22nd Jun 2007, 12:12 PM
The only thing I can think of is that maybe the temperature is a bit high, some plants do fine at 28C but most prefer it cooler, does your office have air conditioner keeping the guppy tank cooler?