PDA

View Full Version : Blue pearl shrimp dying

Lyana
4th Jan 2015, 12:35 PM
Hi, I'm new to shrimp and recently added some blue pearl shrimp to my tank that I've had running 1 year. It's 5 gallons and planted. I drip accommodated them over an hour from TDS 320 to TDS 157, not sure what the other reading were i didn't take them. Temp around 68.

Anyway, all of them were fine for 2 weeks and then i wake up to three dead and one had turned a milky white color. The only thing I did different was dosing a little phosphates for the plants.

One more dead today and now i have 2 white ones, the rest have good color and the dead ones weren't white. They seem less active overall from when I first added them. I added an air stone because the HOB filter doesn't move the surface much.

I have flora max substrate and a piece of driftwood i got from the lake and cleaned well. I used algaefix in the tank when i first set it up but that was almost a year ago. I feed them 3 times a week.

Readings in the tank are as follows:
Gh 8
Kh 9
Ph 8.2
Nh4 0
No2 0
No3 0
TDS 157
Temp 73

Abhishek
5th Jan 2015, 07:12 PM
Sorry for your loss :(

Looks like the dosing is the culprit..
Btw how the ph is 8.2 and tds is 157? Ideally ph should also be low isnt it?

Lyana
6th Jan 2015, 04:08 AM
No more dead that i can see, so fingers crossed.

My ph is 7.8 out of the tap but always settles to 8.2 in all my tanks. TDS is 201 but I'm mixing it with ro water for shrimp tank because gh and kh are 16. But it doesn't lower my ph.

cleeon
6th Jan 2015, 06:27 PM
No more dead that i can see, so fingers crossed.

My ph is 7.8 out of the tap but always settles to 8.2 in all my tanks. TDS is 201 but I'm mixing it with ro water for shrimp tank because gh and kh are 16. But it doesn't lower my ph.

I'm trying to help.

Do You have snails in Your tanks ?

Lyana
8th Jan 2015, 05:11 AM
I'm trying to help.

Do You have snails in Your tanks ?

Yeah, tiny pond snails hitchhiked with some plants i added before the shrimp.