PDA

View Full Version : Taiwan Bee - Water change & Survival rate questions ?

Kloudie
20th Sep 2013, 11:37 PM
Hello guys , I'm new here and this is the first time I post a topic . I've been breeding CRS/CBS for nearly 2 years , but only start breeding TWB for 3 months . My tank 90x45x45 , about 3 months old, using ADA substrate with sponge filter , canister filter with eheim , matrix and no UGF. All the big twb guys ( ~30 ) is fine and growing fast but the problem is the baby survival rate is low . Is it because of my water change ? my tank is ~200L , and i do water change about 10-15% , using RO water . I heard that without UGF , you shouldn't change the water too much , is that true ? I've started planning for my 2nd twb tank , and to use UGF or not is still a big question :D

hyoushoku
21st Sep 2013, 03:02 AM
Hello guys , I'm new here and this is the first time I post a topic . I've been breeding CRS/CBS for nearly 2 years , but only start breeding TWB for 3 months . My tank 90x45x45 , about 3 months old, using ADA substrate with sponge filter , canister filter with eheim , matrix and no UGF. All the big twb guys ( ~30 ) is fine and growing fast but the problem is the baby survival rate is low . Is it because of my water change ? my tank is ~200L , and i do water change about 10-15% , using RO water . I heard that without UGF , you shouldn't change the water too much , is that true ? I've started planning for my 2nd twb tank , and to use UGF or not is still a big question :D

Hi Kloudie,

Don't go for UGF. It introduce more organics into water column than without.

What's your water parameters and your usual water care and feeding regime?

You have 200L tank, is it the babies are hiding and you can't find them? In my 120L planted shrimp tank, I always don't see babies easily and one day some new adult shrimp just pop out. :embarasse

Kloudie
21st Sep 2013, 04:28 PM
Hi Kloudie,

Don't go for UGF. It introduce more organics into water column than without.