PDA

View Full Version : Red Cherry shrimp die while molting

herishi
1st Jun 2013, 03:15 AM
Hi Guys,

This is my first attempt at shrimp keeping I am struggling, I had 5 shrimp sucked into the filter :-( - filter now modified with a pair of tights :-) the remaining ten started off fine then one or two at a time they got a crack in the shell behind their head and hid in the plants, I thought this was molting behaviour but they all seemed to die in this state!

I have added a calcium block since then to try to help.

I have a 64L tank with :-

8 Guppies
3 Plattys
5 Cardinal Tetras
6 Ember Tetras
0 red cherry shrimp

Ammonia did go to 0.75 but treated with seachem prime
nitrite 0
nitrate 0
PH 7.8
GH 15
KH 6

Any ideas before I buy my next batch of Shrimp?

Thanks

Steve

CalicoKitties
2nd Jun 2013, 12:57 AM
Hi there! :) Sorry to hear about your shrimp troubles.

It was probably that they didn't have enough calcium, if you didn't have the calcium in there before.

Did you notice the fish pestering your shrimp? If so, the fish may have stressed out the shrimp since they're more vulnerable during molting time.

It's also possible that you got an unhealthy batch of shrimp..

Good luck - Sorry I wasn't much help haha :)

herishi
2nd Jun 2013, 03:21 AM
Yeah I went to a few other shops while away and noticed the difference, I think the first 2 batches I got were ill. I went back to the same shop ( the only one in my area that sells shrimp) and the difference in the shrimp was amazing! I got 10 more and fingers crossed I will have more luck this time.

Also I noticed one of the shrimp are fanning their rear legs (as if to circulate water over eggs) but I cannot see any eggs, is it possible this is thefirst stage of pregnancy?

Thanks

Steve

CalicoKitties
2nd Jun 2013, 04:03 AM
Glad to hear you got some healthier shrimp this time! :D