PDA

View Full Version : t5 lighting for planted tank



babypiggy
4th Apr 2006, 06:25 AM
hey guys
i have a 3ft t5 lighting
but a month and a bit ago got a bigger tank... it's a 72 oceanic bow front tank

is there any way to make the light 4ft long?
or not really?

Erivaj
18th Apr 2006, 06:05 AM
hey guys
i have a 3ft t5 lighting
but a month and a bit ago got a bigger tank... it's a 72 oceanic bow front tank

is there any way to make the light 4ft long?
or not really?

I understand you want to adapt the 30 Watts light to your new tank.

Your new 4ft system probably will work with 36 Watts lights. Yuo can not install the T5 in your new system.

:(

babypiggy
18th Apr 2006, 07:44 AM
I understand you want to adapt the 30 Watts light to your new tank.

Your new 4ft system probably will work with 36 Watts lights. Yuo can not install the T5 in your new system.

:(
oh okie thanks for the info

Erivaj
18th Apr 2006, 10:27 PM
Anyway if you want to do it and you can post more details or photograps ....

But I think this will be not a good solution. A 36W T5 is not so expensive.

babypiggy
19th Apr 2006, 07:01 AM
Anyway if you want to do it and you can post more details or photograps ....

But I think this will be not a good solution. A 36W T5 is not so expensive.
Um currently it's a t5 lighting wiht 4 strips of lights.
Each light is 39 watts....It was pretty expensive when we bought this light strip. We paid $300 and it's German made.

I was Just wondering if there is a way to make it Longer.... because the light is sitting on the 72 gallon tank which is a bow front. I am already using it; but there are some parts of the tank the light doens't hit. Due to the fact it's not long enough.

Just wanted to see if I could of made it from 3feet to 4 feet.

Erivaj
24th Apr 2006, 04:50 AM
I can not find a good solution to adapt the 3 ft (39w) to 4 ft (54w) to get light all along the tank using the 3 ft lamp you have.

If you rise the lamp over the tank, you will get a bigger lighted area, but at the same time you will lose light caused by the reflection on the water surface.

:undecided

babypiggy
24th Apr 2006, 10:54 PM
I can not find a good solution to adapt the 3 ft (39w) to 4 ft (54w) to get light all along the tank using the 3 ft lamp you have.

If you rise the lamp over the tank, you will get a bigger lighted area, but at the same time you will lose light caused by the reflection on the water surface.

:undecided
Yeah It's a tough one
But I think the light is ok for the tank